Fans To Select 20th Anniversary Team

Posted: 5/4/2012

Pheasants 20th Anniversary LogoSIOUX FALLS – As part of the celebration of 20 consecutive years of professional independent baseball in Sioux Falls, the Sioux Falls Pheasants announced today the creation of the Sioux Falls 20th-Anniversary Team, to be decided by Pheasants fans.

Nominees will be unveiled at each position throughout the season, and fans will be able to cast their vote online at the Pheasants' new website,  Nominees will be determined by a select group of organization members and Sioux Falls media personnel who have long observed the club.

The team will consist of two starting pitchers, two relief pitchers, one catcher, a representative from each infield position, three outfielders and a designated hitter.  In addition, fans can vote for a manager.

The nominees for starting pitcher will be revealed on the Pheasants' website next week.  Winners will be announced on Opening Night, May 17, when the Pheasants host their rival Sioux City Explorers at Sioux Falls Stadium.

The Sioux Falls Pheasants began operation in 1993 as the Sioux Falls Canaries, one of six teams in the newly-formed, independent Northern League. The league's goal was to revive professional baseball in the upper Midwest, provide long-term players opportunities to extend their careers and give undrafted, young talent a second chance.  Since the franchise's beginning, six former players have reached the major leagues, while dozens more went on to higher levels of affiliated baseball. In addition, 32 different former big-leaguers have continued their careers in Sioux Falls.  In 2006, the franchise moved to the American Association, a premiere independent league with 13 teams.

The Sioux Falls Pheasants begin their 20th season at 7:05 p.m. on Thursday, May 17 when they host the Sioux City Explorers. Information about season tickets and group outings is available by calling (605) 336-6060 or visiting