20th Anniversary Team

As part of the celebration of 20 consecutive years of professional independent baseball in Sioux Falls, the Sioux Falls Canaries created the Sioux Falls 20th-Anniversary Team in 2012, determined by fans. Nominees were determined by a select group of organization members and Sioux Falls media personnel who have long observed the club.

20th-Anniversary Team Nominees and Members

* = selected to team by fan vote

Doc Edwards (2000-2004)
Steve Shirley (2007-2014)*
Frank Verdi (1993-1995)

Reggie Abercrombie (2010 - 2011)*
Chad Hermansen (2006)*
Felix Pagan (2000-2004)*
Chris Powell (1993-1994, 1996-1997)
Charles Peterson (1999-2001, 2003)
Ben Van Iderstine (2007-2009)

Matthew Davis (1994-1996)
Tim Hutting (2008-2010)*
Marc Mirizzi (2003-2004)
Edgar Tovar (1998-1999)

Third Basemen
Tagg Bozied (2001)
Grant Richardson (2008)
Trevor Lawhorn (2007, 2009-)*
John Tsoukals (1997)

Second Basemen
Joe Anthonsen (2009-)*
Michael Dumas (1996-1997)
Josh Patton (2008)

First Basemen
Abner Arroyo (2005-2007)
Michael Burton (1993-1995)
Brandon Sing (2010-2011)*

Gregg Maluchnik (2001-2002)
Carl Nichols (1993-1994)
Rich Rodrigues (1998-1999, 2003)
Paul Smyth (2008-2009)*

Designated Hitters
Kevin Garner (1995, 1998)
Will Smith (2007-2008)
Beau Torbert (2008-2010)*

Starting Pitchers
Ryan Ford (2007-2009)*

Rich Hyde (1994, 1996-2001)
Pat Mahomes (2007-2009)
Ben Moore (2008-2011)*
Jamie Ybarra (1994, 1996, 2001)

Relief Pitchers
Robert Andrakin (1993-1996)
Aaron Cotter (2009-2011)*
Ben Fleetham (2000-2002)
Kris Regas (2007-2009)*
George Sherrill (2001)
Andy Wise (1994-1996).

The team will consist of two starting pitchers, two relief pitchers, one catcher, a representative from each infield position, three outfielders and a designated hitter.  In addition, fans can vote for a manager.

See how your picks match up with the Argus Leader's all-time team.

The Sioux Falls Canaries began operation in 1993 as one of six teams in the newly-formed, independent Northern League. The league's goal was to revive professional baseball in the upper Midwest, provide long-term players opportunities to extend their careers and give undrafted, young talent a second chance.  Since the franchise's beginning, six former players have reached the major leagues, while dozens more went on to higher levels of affiliated baseball. In addition, 32 different former big-leaguers have continued their careers in Sioux Falls.  In 2006, the franchise moved to the American Association, a premiere independent league with 13 teams.  From 2010-2012, the team was called the Sioux Falls Pheasants.