League Information


The American Association is one of the great names in the history of professional baseball leagues in the United States. The first American Association was formed in 1902 as an independent minor league for the larger cities in the midwestern area of the U.S.

The original members of the league were the St. Paul Apostles, the Minneapolis Millers, the Kansas City Cowboys, the Toledo Mud Hens, the Indianapolis Indians, the Louisville Colonels, the Milwaukee Brewers, and the Columbus (OH) Senators. The following year (1903), the American Association joined the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues (the minor league organization), and for the next half century the league was arguably the most influential minor league in all of baseball.

Great players such as Ted Williams, Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays and more starred in league ballparks, and the Junior World Series was a major event in the U.S. sporting world. In 1944 more than 50,000 fans showed up for a crucial JWS game between Louisville and Baltimore.

In 2021, the American Association stretches from Canada all the way to Texas and as far as far east as Indiana. Manitoba, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Texas, Minnesota, Iowa, and Indiana are all represented in the 11-team league, which will feature two divisions.


North Division

  • Chicago Dogs
  • Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks
  • Gary SouthShore RailCats
  • Milwaukee Milkmen
  • St. Paul Saints
  • Winnipeg Goldeyes

South Division

  • Cleburne Railroaders
  • Kansas City T-Bones
  • Lincoln Saltdogs
  • Sioux City Explorers
  • Sioux Falls Canaries


American Association Teams

Learn more about the American Association and its rich history by visiting their website